Staff Directory

Dirk Katstra
Dirk KatstraExecutive Director

Dirk Katstra was named the executive director of the Virginia Athletics Foundation in 1996 after serving for four years as director of annual giving for the Foundation. Additionally, as Senior Associate Athletics Director for the athletics department his primary area of responsibility is the supervision of the men’s and women’s swimming and diving programs and their head coach.

Katstra, from Stilwell, Kan., is a 1991 graduate of UVA with a degree in sports management. A member of the Cavalier basketball team from 1987 to 1991, Katstra played on three NCAA Tournament teams at Virginia and was a senior captain on the 1990-91 squad. The Cavaliers advanced to the finals of the 1989 NCAA Southeast Regional Tournament against Michigan during Katstra’s sophomore season.

Before joining the Virginia Athletics Foundation staff in 1992, Katstra served an internship with the athletics department’s promotions and marketing office, and had administrative responsibilities with the men’s basketball program.

Katstra is married to the former Michelle Massie of Charlottesville. The couple has two sons, Austin and Ryan and a daughter, Ryleigh. Katstra’s father, the late Richard Katstra, lettered as a member of the UVA basketball team in 1963 and 1964.

“Getting to know the donors and why they support Virginia athletics.”
The 1989 Men’s Basketball win over Oklahoma to go to the Elite 8.
The 72-63 victory over Duke to claim the 2014 ACC Men’s Basketball Tournament title.
Dedicated, Rewarding and Fun
The Market (Bellair) for lunch and the Downtown Grille for dinner.

Board of Trustees


  • President
    William L. Tyson
    (Richmond, VA)
  • Vice President
    Alan A. McClure
    (Atlanta, GA)
  • Secretary-Treasurer
    Dirk P. Katstra
    (Charlottesville, VA)
  • Immediate Past President
    Scott A. Dockter
    (Atlanta, GA)


  • Mia M. Bass
    (Alexandria, VA)
  • Charles R. Birdsong
    (Suffolk, VA)
  • Richard L. Booth
    (Charlottesville, VA)
  • Franklin S. Edmonds, Jr.
    (Charlottesville, VA)
  • James T. Fang
    (Williamsburg, VA)
  • G. Slaughter Fitz-Hugh III (Richmond, VA)
  • W. Heywood Fralin
    (Roanoke, VA)
  • Edmund F. Garno III
    (Haverford, PA)
  • Michael S. Geismar
    (Charlottesville, VA)
  • Marvin W. Gilliam, Jr.
    (Bristol, VA)
  • Gregory S. Ledford
    (Washington, DC)
  • Craig K. Littlepage
    (Charlottesville, VA)
  • Douglas S. Luke, Jr.
    (New York, NY)
  • T. Douglas McQuade
    (Roanoke, VA)
  • Juliana Schulte O’Reilly
    (McLean, VA)
  • Barry L. Parkhill
    (Charlottesville, VA)
  • Cindy Brinker Simmons
    (Dallas, TX)
  • Anne Carter Smith
    (Charlotte, NC)
  • Robert D. Sweeney
    (Charlottesville, VA)